PFA awards shortlist: How many past winners of Young Player of the Year prize can you name?

PFA Young Player of the Year previous winners

Raheem Sterling and Leroy Sane are in the running for the Young Player of the Year award

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

The six nominees for this year’s Young Player of the Year have been announced and as you’d expect, it’s quite Manchester City heavy.

The Premier League champions have a very young squad and goalkeeper Ederson, plus wingers Raheem Sterling and Leroy Sane are among those shortlisted for the award along with Harry Kane, Marcus Rashford and Ryan Sessegnon.

Formed on 2 December 1907, the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) has been handing out end of season awards for the last 44 years.

The winner of the first Young Player of the Year prize – voted for by fellow pros – was Ipswich Town’s Kevin Beattie at the end of the 1973/74 season, while Andy Gray of Aston Villa was the first player to receive both the Player and Young Player awards when presented with the trophies at the end of the 1976/77 campaign.

But how many winners do you know of in the Premier League era (1992/93 onwards)? You have three minutes to name as many as possible and you’re able to use last names as answers, but be warned: it’s quite hard.


Read Original Article via TalkSports


Tune in to the world's biggest sports radio station - Live Premier League football coverage, breaking sports news, transfer rumours & exclusive interviews.

Add comment

Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.